• Team:


Ground: Turners Cross   Capacity: 7366   Nickname: City, Rebel Army   Website: http://www.corkcityfc.net
Cork City

Cork City

Bishopstown Stadium, Curraheen, Cork

Tel: 021 434 5574

Cork City Home Kit
Home Kit
Cork City Away Kit
Away Kit
Cork City Third Kit
Third Kit

Cork City were founded in 1984 and spent their first two seasons at Flower Lodge before a move to Turner’s Cross where they won their first silverware, lifting the League Cup in 1987/88. The Leesiders reached their first FAI Cup final the following year, losing out to Derry City after a replay. Another FAI Cup final was lost in 1991/92, this time to Bohemians but the club landed their first League title in 1992/93 after a complicated three-way play-off with Bohemians and Shelbourne.

The following season, 1993/94, saw the club make an ill-fated move to Bishopstown where, over the next two years, Damien Richardson’s team did well in the league and played Galatasaray and Slavia Prague in Europe. But the pitch was akin to a marsh and the club were forced to play in Turner’s Cross, St Colman’s Park and even in Tolka Park with the pitch unplayable.

In 1995/96 the club entered receivership and left Bishopstown. Homeless and struggling to survive, a return to Turner's Cross was negotiated and City avoided relegation with a ninth place finish. Things started to improve under manager Dave Barry and the club won their second FAI Cup in 1997/98, beating Shelbourne 1-0 in a replay at Dalymount Park. In the next two seasons City finished second in the league and Barry said goodbye in the summer of 2000.

In 2004, under Pat Dolan, City beat Malmo and NEC Nijmegen in the Intertoto Cup and a 1-1 draw with Nantes at a packed Turner’s Cross wasn’t quite enough to overturn a first-leg defeat. Dolan’s team finished second in the league that year but he departed in pre-season of 2005 to be replaced by Damien Richardson who promptly led the club to their second league title as City beat Derry in the last game of the season at Turner’s Cross in front of an estimated 12,000 crowd. A fortnight later City missed out on the double when they lost the FAI Cup final to Drogheda United.

City won the 2007 FAI Cup, beating Longford Town 1-0 at a rain-soaked RDS but off the pitch the storm clouds were brewing. Venture capital firm, Arkaga, took over ownership of the club and within a short period of time they pulled out, leaving City in examinership. In October 2008 Tom Coughlan stepped in to rescue the club but things continued to deteriorate. In 2009 Paul Doolin led City to a third place finish but the club’s finances imploded and after a protracted legal process Cork City were wound up in February 2010.

In anticipation of this City supporters had applied for their own license to join the league and under the name Cork City Foras Co-op, they competed in the 2010 First Division. In 2011 they bought back the name and history of Cork City FC and won the First Division title, returning the club to the top tier of Irish football.

League Champions: Twice
1992/93, 2005

First Division Champions: Once

FAI Cup Winners: Three times
1997/98, 2007, 2016

League Cup Winners: Three times
1987/88, 1994/95, 1998/99

Setanta Cup Winners: Once

Squad Breakdown
If you spot incorrect info, email extratimelive@gmail.com

NameDate of BirthPosition
Mark McNulty Mark McNulty Ireland 13 Oct 1980 Goalkeeper
Alan Smith Alan Smith Ireland 25 May 1993 Goalkeeper
Alan Bennett Alan Bennett Ireland 04 Oct 1981 Defender
John Kavanagh John Kavanagh Ireland 19 Jul 1994 Defender
John Dunleavy John Dunleavy Ireland 03 Jul 1991 Defender
Kevin O'Connor Kevin O'Connor Ireland 07 May 1995 Defender
Sean O'Mahony Sean O'Mahony Ireland 10 Dec 1995 Defender
Robbie Williams Robbie Williams England 02 Oct 1984 Defender
Sean McLoughlin Sean McLoughlin Ireland 13 Nov 1996 Defender
Ryan Delaney Ryan Delaney Ireland 06 Sep 1996 Defender
Garan Manley Garan Manley Ireland 28 Jan 1998 Defender
Adam O'Sullivan Adam O'Sullivan Ireland 24 Apr 1998 Defender
Shane Griffin Shane Griffin Ireland 08 Sep 1994 Defender
Greg Bolger Greg Bolger Ireland 09 Sep 1988 Midfield
Jimmy Keohane Jimmy Keohane Ireland 22 Jan 1991 Midfield
Gearóid  Morrissey Gearóid Morrissey Ireland 17 Nov 1991 Midfield
Conor McCormack Conor McCormack Ireland 18 May 1990 Midfield
Garry Buckley Garry Buckley Ireland 19 Aug 1993 Midfield
Stephen  Dooley Stephen Dooley Northern Ireland 19 Oct 1991 Midfield
Steven Beattie Steven Beattie Ireland 20 Aug 1988 Midfield
Karl Sheppard Karl Sheppard Ireland 14 Feb 1991 Forward
Connor  Ellis Connor Ellis Ireland 12 May 1997 Forward
Achille Campion Achille Campion France 10 Mar 1990 Forward
Alex Yakuba Alex Yakuba Unknown Unavailable Unknown
Last Six Results
Cork City scores first

20 Oct St. Patrick's Athletic (A) 2 - 4
17 Oct Derry City (H) 0 - 0
13 Oct Bohemians (A) 0 - 0
29 Sep Limerick FC (H) 1 - 0
25 Sep Dundalk (H) 1 - 1
22 Sep Limerick FC (A) 1 - 2
 All Fixtures